30/11/2010

Procrastinating and thinking about Boudica.

Posted in Books tagged , , , , , at 15:22 by maggyann

I have actually been working on my next Numerology post but for some reason I seem to be verbally constipated today! Therefore sitting musing to myself in a sort of daydreamy fog I became aware of a book looking directly at me from the shelf. Dreaming the Eagle by Manda Scott.

Aha! I thought maybe if I do a simple post on what is the first of a very good series of books I will get my creative juices flowing again. Of course that could be wishful thinking but let’s try shall we?

Dreaming the Eagle is to put it in one word (unusual for me), ***brilliant***. It is the first of a series of books on Boudica that famous, feisty lady who showed those pesky Romans where they could go and how to get there!

I have always enjoyed the Boudica story imagining her on her chariot slashing right and left, throwing spears with her fiery, red hair flying behind her. These books take you from her childhood onwards and really give depth to what is after all a fairly bare time for historical facts. Manda Scott has a wonderful way with words and takes you from the very first sentences into a time and place you feel excited by. You will meet characters who will fascinate you. Truly well worth reading.

I have read the whole series so far (I think there are more to come), and each book is a wonderful journey into another time. I would heartily recommend these to anyone who enjoys a good read with characters you wish you could meet in the flesh. This time of year it is always good to have something on the shelf for those dark, cold evenings so if you are still pondering do try Dreaming the Eagle you will soon be looking for Dreaming the Bull which is next in the series.

Oh well back to Numerology then…

2 Comments »

  1. lucylocket said,

    hi i agree with you about mandas books they really are great i ve not read them all yet but have enjoyed them loads nice blog

  2. maggyann said,

    Thank you lucylocket. I hope Manda does have more on Boudica to come. I am glad you enjoyed your visit.


Leave a Reply

